BCM206 – iOS vs Android: the two futures of the mobile net

For this week’s topic, it focused on iOS vs Android. Which if I’m being honest I didn’t think there was much difference between the two.  Except maybe the aesthetics. But boy oh boy was I wrong!

These two platforms accounted for more than 99 per cent of all new smartphones shipped in 2016, and that rose to 99.7 per cent last year, according to IDC.

Android is open-source, so people can take that source code and create custom operating systems from it. Where Apple is closed-source. Which basically means you cannot make a new operating system from it. Even with apps on your phone, iOS only allows you to download from the App Store. But Andriod? You can download apps outside the app. The freedom Android users experience is almost polar opposite to what iOS users experience.

From this week’s lecture, it really made me think about even though I now know how controlled my phone is. And what options are available. I will still continue to fight for my beloved iPhone. Why? I’m all for the aesthetics. And for my remediation this week it demonstrates my passion.

REFERENCES  

Chau, M. (2018). IDC: Smartphone OS Market Share. [online] IDC: The premier global market intelligence company. Available at: https://www.idc.com/promo/smartphone-market-share/os [Accessed 9 Sep. 2018].

Hoffman, C. (2015). Android Is “Open” and iOS Is “Closed” — But What Does That Mean to You?. [online] How-To Geek. Available at: https://www.howtogeek.com/217593/android-is-open-and-ios-is-closed-but-what-does-that-mean-to-you/ [Accessed 9 Sep. 2018].

Hill, S. (2018). Android vs. iOS: Which smartphone platform is the best?. [online] Digitaltrends.com. Available at: https://www.digitaltrends.com/mobile/android-vs-ios/ [Accessed 9 Sep. 2018].

 

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment